• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Steering issues gonna throw parts at it

SINCITY192

NAXJA Forum User
Hopefully this wont be one of those things where ill be throwing the wrong parts but thats why i got u guys right? lol

88 cherekee, 4.0 6cyl
I feel like im all over the place when i hit the smallest bumps and if its a big one :( Im terrible at trouble shooting the suspention last time i got it inspected they said i had a leak in the steering pump, the steering box, and the lines, ok since then i have started to feel like something is turning roughly under my seat, thunk when i turn. ok i told u im not good at diagnosing suspention

i wanted to start with my u-joints on the axel shaft fisrt then the u-joints on the shafts.

questions:
what are u-joint straps?
also it says to raise vehicle and take parking break off? wont it roll even if i block wheel?
as you can see im nervous but i want to get this done.

Hallo. Safety first. When the car is placed on jackstands it is better.
You can be able to turn the wheels and drive shaft. Only one axle, which you are working on.
The other wheels on the ground can be blocked extra.
But if you are working in the front , why not using the hand brakes too? They are only working on the rear.
The U joints are holding in place by the 2 straps and 2 bolts each. :yap:

Last edited:
If you're just lifting the front to work on front end stuff, block one of the rear wheels by chocking it fore and aft - so it can't roll around on you (get a few sets of those folding wheel chocks you can find at Sears for five bucks a pair. I keep three or four sets in the bottom drawer of my toolbox, a pair in my truck, and I even keep a pair in the spare tyre well in her car. Safety first, last, and always...)