• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

ax15 swap in 2.5

jessebill79 said:
I have a 1984 with 2.5 and ax-5. Can I swap in ax-15?? Is it a straight bolt up?? Any help appreciated.

I'm inclined to think so.

Mind if I ask why you want to do this? I'm more curious than anything else (and I'd have to check to see if there is any difference in the bellhousing bolt pattern. I think there was a break, but don't hold me to it - I'd have to check my notes...)

I'm fairly sure you're going to need new driveshafts after the swap, but I can't make any guarantees there...

jessebill79 said:
Some say ax-5 not very strong. I'm a newbie this is my first build,trying to do things right the first time.

Fair enough - I was just looking for an answer.

However, unless you're building a firebreathing four, the AX-5 should last you just fine. If you were going to get silly, I'd think of something more along the lines of a Borg T10 than an AX-15 - the -15 is a decent box, but you can do better if you need to.

However, fed a steady diet of GL-3, the Aisins aren't bad boxes (they just need GL-3 because they have bronze synchros. GL-5 attacks yellow metal...)

jessebill79 said:
thanks for your help

No worries. If you want more specific information, I can probably try to dig it up for you - that's just what I know off the top of my head.

Which part of Indiana? I spent most of my formative years in Lafayette, Monticello, and Monon...

I am doing this swap very soon, within the next week and plan to have a semi full write up on the process. It is not a direct swap and requires some shenanigans.