• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Back flushing a 87', closed loop Renix

JaysXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Newbie here. This is my very first post. I recently scored an 87' 2-door Sport with 4.0L and the towing package with D44 trac-loc and 100 amp alt for $150.00. Thats right, that is no typo. The previous owner was the "Army Corp of Engineers". Government vehicle. Very well maintained. I would like to back flush the engine block and heater core and bypass the radiator. The original radiator was completly clogged so I purchased a 3-row. So should I connect a garden hose to the top radiator hose or the bottom radiator hose? The engine will be running with the heater full blast. Would it not make more sense to flush thru the bottom radiator hose so the water pump sucks water through the block instead of fighting against the water pump?

I recently installed a 4WD 3" lift.
All new bushings.
Custom roof rack.
Kumho MT 235/75/15 tires

Thanks Guys...