• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Power steering issue..

Daven75

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I'm new to XJ's but not automotive. I have a 2000 xj 4x4 4 door with the 4.0 and an automatic trans. It has 145,000 miles and right now I am having an odd power steering issue. Whenever I turn, mainly at lower speeds is when i notice it most, the steering wheel is kinda jerky or bumpy. Theres no resistance, I can turn fine but when I turn and have the wheel return it is jerky/bumpy. I was alittle low on power steering fluid so I topped it off but the problem is still there. I heard that a possible problem could be the U-Joints? How would I go about checking this?

Any help is useful!
Currently I am at school so my options of working on the jeep are limited, hopefully it's something easy.

Just crawl under the jeep, back side of the wheel assy is the exposed u-Joint. I would check the belt tension, and the belt of oil. Also make sure the fluid is not foamy, indicating air still in the system from a leak. Air bubbles in the fluid will do that I think. Does the engine bog down at all, or is just the return cycle that is jerky?

I would get under there and have someone turn the wheels slowly why you shake the steering parts, drag link, tie rods, and look for loose parts or bad bushings.

mkay, and Ive been checking the power steering fluid for the past week now since I noticed it was alittle low and I have not seen any bubbles or foam or anything.