• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what's the go-to exhaust manifold these days

ehall

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
My 9-yr-old Thorley header cracked and they are talking like they will not honor the warranty. Looking to get something quick that won't break immediately. I remember people used to be happy with APN, still a good buy? Dorman is new since I looked, is it any good? Is that ebay special still a good deal?

The Dorman / brand x one with the flex pieces are decent. Last I checked 1aauto had the best price.

I've been running a manifold with the flex piping for ten years, not that the jeep it's in hits more than a few puddles on the street.

When I changed it I remember the talk being the oem design was faulty and would always crack at some point , the flex pieces were to eliminate that weakness. Not sure if that reasoning is current with what we know now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I just put the doorman one on my 96. I only have about 100 miles on it so I can't speak to it's longevity, but the fit was nice and the flange thickness was within .010" of the original. I did have to clean up some booger welds inside the ports where they attached the flange to the tubes. For the price, not a big deal.

My apn is cracked around the collector, but it's like 8 years old and I blame crappy exhaust and some bad motor mounts at the time. I added a flex joint to the new exhaust, and when the motor gets pulled out this winter I will probably replace with another apn.

I've had a Dorman in my 96 for a few year now, so far all is good.

Anyone have an opinion on the header from Banks?

I just bought their Revolver header and am really impressed with it's construction. Having heavy wall SS pipes and a 1/2" mounting flange with great welding.