NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > OEM Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

OEM Tech Discussion Forum for OEM (Original Equipment) or stock XJs and MJs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 8th, 2010, 06:43
IronHelix IronHelix is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 7
Throttle Position Sensor

I have a 1999 XJ sport that throwing a P0123 code. I have replaced the throttle postion sensor 3 times thinking I got defective ones. Still throwing the code, I determined that either the throttle body is really gummed up, (Sprayed some carb cleaner but I think it still needs a good cleaning.)the plug is bad or there's a short on those wires. What is the best method to determine if there is a short, and how difficult would it be to replace the wiring?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 8th, 2010, 07:40
kastein kastein is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central MA - keep going till the road turns to dirt, then listen for banjos
Posts: 14,019
Re: Throttle Position Sensor

How difficult it will be depends on how hacked / perfect you want it to come out. You could go anywhere from a perfect OEM-quality invisible fix that'll take hours to do, to a ten minute "cut the old wiring off and ziptie new wires to the harness from the ECU+TCU to the sensor" hack job.

You'll want a multimeter and a schematic, just find all the connectors the signal passes through and measure at each one till you find the spot where it changes, then inspect the wiring between those connectors till you find the fault.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 8th, 2010, 08:57
NEWYXJ NEWYXJ is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Colorado/Northern Wyoming
Posts: 92
Re: Throttle Position Sensor

I had a similar problem and found that the rubber seal on the ecm at the engine harness connector (front connector) was torn. The tear in the seal was allowing water in, causing cross signals and corrosion on the pins and recepticals.
I installed an oring on the outside of the connector, between the the connector and the ecm.
I did this just 2 weeks ago. So far no more problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 8th, 2010, 09:02
IronHelix IronHelix is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 7
Re: Throttle Position Sensor

Ill be sure to check the ECM gasket then as well, do you remember which plug it was that on the ECM?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position Sensor? DBenz OEM Tech Discussion 8 October 4th, 2008 11:20
Wet TPS/Throttle Position Sensor... 5-90 OEM Tech Discussion 2 April 25th, 2006 21:26
Throttle Position Sensor RenoHogHead OEM Tech Discussion 3 August 30th, 2005 03:39
Throttle Position Sensor SPSERG OEM Tech Discussion 23 August 4th, 2004 18:31
Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) HELP!!!! rtaboada OEM Tech Discussion 7 June 19th, 2003 09:45


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NAXJA and NAXJA logo's Copyright NAXJA. All content/images Copyright NAXJA 1999-2014