• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

WTF?! 2 different leaf packs on the front of my XJ!!!!

Goatslayer

NAXJA Forum User
I've been reading up on this death wobble thing because I have it, although not as bad as some of the things I've read. So I'm under the front taking some pictures so I can ask questions here (cause I'm a total noob) and I notice what someone questioned in another thread I made about the front leaf packs...

BOTH FRONT LEAF PACKS ARE DIFFERENT :flame: :smsoap: :flame:

On the passenger's side there are 6 leafs, on the driver's side there are 5. To top it off, it's not like someone just "forgot" to put a leaf in, from one side to the other they are of different lengths.

This would probably explain why it feels like I'm leaning a little to the left while driving (before I busted the left rear shock mount).

Could this explain my DW as well? Or contribute to it? My uneducated newbness is leaning towards YES.

Now I've got to figure out exactly what leaf packs I need since this was a custom install.

I'm now in the mood to hurt someone...

Oh, if anyone can point me in the right direction, I guess this is a wrangler front axle (differential on the driver's side) and I need 4" of lift.

And yeah, my front springs on the passenger's side are bent where they connect to the rear mount. I'm online browsing right now for new leaf springs.

uneven springs can screw up your front end geometry giving you the DWs even if you have a good alignment and a proper trackbar.

Of course right now that's the least of your worries...

good luck with the "fix"

Sounds like the previous owner had a fatty girlfriend, and needed and add-a-leaf to compensate.

490Chaser said:
uneven springs can screw up your front end geometry giving you the DWs even if you have a good alignment and a proper trackbar.