• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

BB and RE 3.5

Skibum12189

NAXJA Forum User
I am looking to buy a 3.5" RE Super-ride, but I want to be able to fit 33s so I was thinking maybe I would get a 1.5" BB (http://www.quadratec.com/products/76190_803.htm) Theoretically, that would leave me with like 4.5 to 5" of lift which would be plenty for 33s.

I'm a noob for sure and this will be my first lift. Is my thought process skewed in anyway. Will the shocks and brake lines that come with the super-ride work with spacers and shackles? Would i be able to fit 33s with no trimming? Should i just save up and get the 4.5"? Or should i just stick with the 3.5 and 31s for my first lift and upgrade if I feel the need to down the road?

it depends. Ideally, you'd be better off just getting the 4.5" kit. But if you're on a budget, there's nothing wrong with doing the 3.5" kit and BB. If you don't mind trimming, you can fit 33's with the 3.5" kit.

here's some pics of mine with the RE 3.5" kit and 33's with trimmed fenders and TJ flares. I just recently upgraded to a 6" long arm setup:

OcalaTrip1-24-09070-1.jpg

OcalaTrip1-24-09074.jpg

OcalaTrip1-24-09082.jpg

RE lifts typically run higher then advertised, so with the BB I would expect around 5.5" lift. But at that height you have to deal with an SYE, driveshaft, longer control arms, longarms, drop brackets, brakelines, and steering angles.
I suggest that you stay with just the 3.5" (probably net over 4"), trim/dumpstop to fit the 33's. take your time and you can make it look clean