• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Hood vents VS. hinge spacers

David B.

NAXJA Member #490
So I have been doing a lot of searching on the forums about various hood vent setups. They look really good and I am aware of their function. Ultimately I went the cheap(er) route and bought and installed some 3/4" spacers for the hood hinges.

My question is... is the heat dissipation any better with the hood vents or am I getting basically the same affect with the cowl style hood?

Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert... But if you are moving at a faster rate of speed I can see the hood spacers or cowl being more effective. For slower trails / rocks the open hood vents allow heat to rise away. I could be wrong but I think it depends on what the application is.

I would think your 3/4 spacers would do just fine in both cases.

I opted for a Crowl Hood Scoop with a 11" Circle Opening in the Hood. Why?

The Crowl goes back to the the rear of the Hood covering the Opening. The Top of the Crowl overlaps over the Crowl Vent by a couple of inches allowing water to go down the Vent instead of into my Engine Compartment.

Before I had the Crowl Scoop, I had a Fan Mounted to the Opening on the underside of the Hood. However, water flowed down onto the Engine causing some Ignition problems. One of which was a cracked Accel Coil. While I had the Fan turned off, I watched the Flow of Air. Under 30 mph the Air flowed out the Opening. Over 30 mph, the Air Flowed into the Opening. I had to turn off the Fan when I was going over 30. I removed the Fan and covered the Opening with the Crowl and have had no problems with the Ignition when it rains.

I have one like this one only mine is white: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Hood...ptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories