• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Battery Draining

tgregg

NAXJA Member #1444
All of a sudden my battery is draining over a week if the XJ is not driven. I bought a new battery and that hasn't helped. This is a new condition, it used to hold a charge forever. Does a 95 XJ have any history of something like this?

Make sure the battery itself is clean. Excessive dirt can cause a drain. If you have a voltmeter that has a amps function you can see what kind of drain its pulling while its off by pulling the negative cable and putting your meter in series.

Thanks, the battery is new so it is clean. I think my volt meter has amps. I am a good mechanic but terrible at electronics.

My meter has a place with an upside down horse shoe kind of thing. Settings are 200K, 20K, 2K, and 200. Is this amps, if so where should I set the switch?

I'm sitting here thinking about this and guessing DCA is DC Amps and the horse shoe thing is ohms. So I'm trying to figure out where to set the switch, 200u, 2m, 20m, 200m
Any help?

I'm having the same problem with my '97. I'll charge it and then it will be dead the next day. It has been hell to research online as opinions are many but solutions are few.

Here is what I've learned... if the alternator has a bad diode, it will drain the battery and the longer you let it go, the quicker it will drain the battery.