• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.8 swap advice

kneutonic

NAXJA Forum User
im sure this has been gone over but im a newb so here goes. i just got a 3.73 trac lock 8.8 out of a 96 explorer to replace my weak D35.
1. i know i need the brackets... i was planning on getting the M.O.R.E kit for $200 unless anyone knows a cheaper way to go?
2. should i weld the perches in to set my pinion angle or should i use the 4 degree wedges that i just got for my RE 4.5 superflex lift?
3. do i need a new yoke for the jeep style u joint or should i order my Tom Woods driveshaft for a rear ford style u joint and use the ford yoke?
4. do the rear brakes bolt right up or do i need a prop valve to make it work right?
5. last but not least, should i regear it or is 3.73 acceptable for 32s? (i know i will need to regear my front to match)
any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums/showthread.php?t=371713

Sorry, I don't have time to go into more detail. This thread is a great source of info regarding the 8.8 swap.

You shouldn't use the shims, match everything up when you prepare to weld.

You will need to swap the flange to match the Jeep driveshaft. Most aftermarket shops sell these. I recommend www.carolinadriveline.com For the DS also.