• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.25" Spanner Tool Dimensions?

vt98xj

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
I have some gear whine after a offroading trip and I believe the spanner nut backed off a little causing increased backlash in the rear end, I need the spanner tool in order to adjust it.

I was hoping someone could measure the end of the spanner tool that is used to adjust the adjuster nut in the 8.25 rearend, I am a broke college student and I can make it in the Machine shop here at school for a couple bucks compared to....
http://completeoffroad.com/i-122848-chrysler-spanner-tool-9-14-8-147-14-yt-ao6.html

I'm very sure its a 1-1/8" (OD) nut that will fit into the spanner but I could measure mine to be sure. I made 2 spanner tools for the 8.25 out of some black pipe, 2 nuts, and 2 short 1/2" drive extensions. Welded it all up and it works great, thats been 7 years ago.

A front hub nut fits the adjuster. Pretty sure it's 36mm. JIM.

If you torqued the bearing caps to spec, and installed the locking tang, there is no way the bearing adjuster came out of adjustment.

Do you want a spanner (spans two holes and fits in the holes along the outside of the adjuster), or the adjuster tool that goes in though the axle tube and fits the hex opening in the adjuster?

There was a thread not too long ago, probably about a week, where someone, IIRC it was Goatman, posted a link on how to make your own adjuster tool.

When I changed my pinion bearings, I used a spanner from a HF grinder that I had laying around to adjust the preload without going through the axle tube.

I have to diagnose what the problem is in my rear end, I want to have all the tools ready incase I have to do a rebuild.