• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Quick question on drum brakes.

UltimateG

NAXJA Forum User
Hey,

I just replaced the wheel cylinders in the back, and when I went to re-assemble the brakes, something came out wrong. I'm in a hurry to get this done, so I'm hoping y'all can point out the problem. Searching here found no previous questions like this. I'm no expert on brakes, so if it's something really simple, please feel free to point and laugh.
:dunce:

The self-adjuster cable no longer pulls tension on the adjusting lever. In fact it's pretty slack. Check out my pictures below, and you'll see that the adjusting lever no longer even touches the star nut.

To remove the wheel cylinder, I didn't even have to take off the shoes or the adjuster. The only parts I pulled off were the anchor pin plate, and the adjuster cable. I unhooked the primary & secondary springs from the pin, but didn't remove them. I did each wheel separately in order to keep an original as a guide. Still, both wheels came out like this.

Thanks,
G

('94 sport. 9" drum. no abs)

IMG_0442-2.jpg

IMG_0443.jpg

IMG_0443.jpg

IMG_0444.jpg

Last edited:
Make sure the cable guide (under the rear spring) is fully seated in the hole.

As far as I can tell, it is. At least it looks and feels good. Is there a proper way to determine this?

Oh, and after I put it together and took it out for a test drive, I noticed that pulling on the handbrake would bring one loud clunk from each wheel before the jeep would start to slow down. I can't see what this is coming from either.

Whoops, forgot to put this one in:

IMG_0441.jpg

Last edited:
Pix no worky

Be sure the bar between the brake shoes is seated well.
The adjuster cable should be on the front shoe and around the guide.