• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

renix

poomero

NAXJA Forum User
i know this is going to get a lot of laughs but i am new to jeeps and i keep hearing about renix motors. what are they and do all jeeps have them? i have a 1990 with a inline 6.

Congratulations, you have a Renix (Renault-Bendix).

Pre-Chrysler acquisition of Jeep the French were involved in operations, that is why you can find Peugeot BA10/5 transmissions and the Renault-Bendix designed electronics.

Anyway, I too have been blessed with a Renix and love it.

87-90 inline 6 XJ's are "Renix" Jeeps
Welcome to the wonderful world of Jeepin!

Mechanically, all of the 242ci engines are close to the same (there are some differences - the cylinder head was revised a few times, and the main cap brace was added for 1996.)

The first generation, as mentioned, is "RENIX" - and that's what you've got. The system was spec'd by Renault and built by Bendix/King. It's actually quite robust, adaptable - and best of all - pre-OBD. I've never been a huge fan of OBD-I (principally because there was never a real standard for it. OBD-II makes more sense.)

RENIX is actually fairly easy to troubleshoot as well - all you need is decent skill with a multimeter and a useful manual. You can find the RENIX FI manual in the Tech section at Pirates of the Rubicon, and I've kicked open a head-shed for RENIX-specific discussion (groups.yahoo.com/group/RENIXPower.) I think the RENIX FI manual got upped there as well, I don't recall (and I know I didn't put it up there.) Just make sure you say something more than "I want to join up" if you decide to sign up there - or at least let us know it's you (we've been fighting SPAMbots of late.)