• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

were all 4.0s created equal?

xjtroudt

NAXJA Forum User
What is diffrent between lets say a 95 4.0 and a 99 4.0?
shrug.gif
I have a quote for a master rebuild kit for a 95 at $450 and a 99 at $610. I know that the intake/exhaust manifold gaskets are diffrent, but what else is diffrent? If anything? Would love to save $140

In 96 there was a slight redesign of the motor. Not sure of anything after that besides the aluminum head in 2000.

Just a minute there professor, no aluminum head is made for the Jeep 4.0 other than the one made by HESCO.....or some other after market company. Never came stock with Al Heads.

2000-2001 aluminum heads. Had a casting defect. Still used aluminum heads after tha for the 4.0 but they were changed....

I'm no professor but thanks for the title.

2000-2001 aluminum heads. Had a casting defect. Still used aluminum heads after tha for the 4.0 but they were changed....

I'm no professor but thanks for the title.

they had bad castings but they arnt aluminum. where did you get the idea that they are aluminum?

Yeah, not aluminum, but 2000-2003 0331 heads are prone to cracking. Supposedly they fixed it in either 03 or 04. Also, the 00-01 XJ has some engine mount and accessory mount differences.

The 4.0L never came stock with an aluminum head. The 00-06 (or is 07?) head wasn't significantly lighter than its predecessors either. The only aluminum head currently available for the 4.0L is Hesco's.

Since when are the 2000-2001 heads not aluminum? This is what I've been hearing for years! More lightweight than the pre 00 iron heads too.....so what gives?

do you believe everything you hear?

i think you just confused the head cracking issue as a problem becuase they were aluminum.