• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

question about transmissions

93xjcanada

NAXJA Forum User
i have a 93 cherokee sport with a 5 speed that i am told is the ax-15. the transmission is cracked on the output shaft casing?( im new to this kinda stuff so bare with me here) and the clutch is going....i just picked up an 87 cherokee for parts and i was wondering if that casing would be the same and if i can use the clutch parts because it is said to have a brand new clutch in it.....any information would be a help.....thanks.

Your 93 would be an AX15, the 87 would be an AX15 if it has a 4.0L.

Output shaft casing I'm guessing is the Adapter Extension Housing. Could that crack be welded? If it can be welded, can it be done while it is in the vehicle?

the 87 does have a 4.0 in it....and my 93 is cracked in the crappiest of location it stems off of a bolt hole for the cross member....and another thing i was told was the 87 had the peugeot trans in it because it was an 87....yet again like i said i dont know much about these but it would be a great relief if it was an ax15..im going to have to get it in the air to find out. the casing im talking about is in between the trans and the tranfer case....

Your 93 would be an AX15, the 87 would be an AX15 if it has a 4.0L.

Output shaft casing I'm guessing is the Adapter Extension Housing. Could that crack be welded? If it can be welded, can it be done while it is in the vehicle?

Freeze!