• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Sea Foam and Spark Plugs

driggs

NAXJA Forum User
I plan on running a bottle of Sea Foam through my 2001 XJ soon, and I believe that this will be its first ever dose of "snake oil" in its life. Unfortunately, I just put brand new spark plugs in it (NGK ZFR5N), before the Sea Foam rather than after it.

Is it advised to change spark plugs after dosing with Sea Foam, or will the amount of carbon burnt off not be enough to foul my new plugs up?

Don't worry! just do it, go for a good drive after, done it plenty

the plugs will have a grayish tint to them after using the seafoam don't worry about it i have been using seafoam for three years and my best results are use half through the motor and then dump the other half in a full tank of gas works every time and enjoy the smoke show

i have used it in both my 95xj and 99 dodge ram. in the jeep i had failed emissions. i put in seafoam and there was a noticeable drop in carbon and oxides of nitrogen levels (it still failed but bearly due to a bad cat). the truck ran a little smoother afterwards as well.

after the tank of gas with the seafoam was used up, i pulled the plugs and took a small wire brush to remove any deposits from them

Sea Foam is the bee's knee's!

This may sound newbie-ish, but where do I put in sea foam for the motor? Do I take off the tube from the air filter to the throttle body and put it in there?

This may sound newbie-ish, but where do I put in sea foam for the motor? Do I take off the tube from the air filter to the throttle body and put it in there?

I've had the best luck on other vehicles by feeding it in through the brake booster vacume line. Just can't pour to fast or they say it can hydrolock your motor. I think you can pour it down the TB as well, just don't do it to fast.