• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

factory limited slip

hawkeye

NAXJA Forum User
im new to jeeps, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question. did cherokees ever come from the factory with limited slip rear differentials?

Sure did. It was an option. If the machine came with a full sized spare, then there is a good chance it has a limited slip.

but the factory trac-lok is not any better than an open differential. If you ever wheel it the stock unit will quickly wear out. i put a new one in my jeep cause i got an incredible deal for a factory l/s ($80 wholesale price) when i regeared it for my bigger tires. it only lasted 10K miles before it was already shot and making bad noises. I have sense put in the detroit true-trac gear driven unit and it is incredible!

I have a factory trac-lok LSD in my XJ (D44). After 22 years and 235,000 miles it actually still works. It does help off road, only if a tire is lifted or severe traction difference does it fail. and never a one-tire-fire on the street :D

Limited slips use clutch packs that will wear out. The lunch box lockers that ratchet seem to have a good reputation for usefullness and a price that won't break the bank.

Moving up past a $500 locker, you might consider getting a whole different axle, like out of a disc braked Mountaineer - comes with a locker if you snag it right, and the whole mod can be cheaper.