• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Changing hub bearing now brakes are shot

Combatcm

NAXJA Forum User
I was changing my hub and took the caliper off then pressed the brakes by accident and the pad came out of the piston and there is brake fluid everywhere. I've never done a brake job before and this really sucks. I'm assuming im gonna need new pads all around cause i need them anyway. And im gonna need to clean them up good too. I dont want to touch it until i know what to do.

Any advice welcome.

you can purchase a caliper rebuild kit and reseat the piston in the caliper and reassemble everything, but the calipers are fairly cheap. I'd replace the caliper and pads (you need 'em anyway) and bleed everything until it's all new brake fluid.

You almost certainly need new pads if fluid contaminated them, and it's probably not a bad idea anyway, since a wobbling wheel bearing can wear the pads on that side prematurely. As for the caliper itself, it may depend on how well you can get the piston back in, and whether you can do this without damage either to the dust seal or the piston seal. If there's brake fluid escaping, you certainly pushed the piston out past the seal, so you will have to push it back. The dust seal is the bellows-like boot that surrounds the visible part of the piston. The piston seal is inside the bore of the caliper. It stands still while the piston moves back and forth, and cannot actually be removed without removing the piston completely.