• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Starter issue

Ben824

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so in the last couple of days my starter has been acting up. My XJ is a 97 4.0L auto 4x4. When I go to start it up I hear the start try to start the engine but it sounds like it "lets go" and just free spins. When I let off and let the key drop back to the "on" position it stops and I hear a pop sound. Now I was an automotive student and a local tech school for a while before I transferred to a big University and I learned how a starter works and got to take one apart and everything so I know that the gear extends out and engages the flex plate and then it turns and starts the engine. Now it seems like it is turning but not extending out and engaging the flex plate. Would this be a solenoid issue or the whole starter itself? I know I can take it to autozone and have it tested but that takes time to take the starter out and get it over there. I do plan on doing this but I am just curious as to what i should expect the verdict should be. Any thoughts?

Sounds like loose starter bolts. Second guess, is your Bendix is full of garbage. Third guess, is your solenoid has a torn seal and is full of rust. Possible it's your overrunning clutch, but unlikely.
Could also be a cable/clamp problem, starter needs all the juice it can get to work right.

Once again:

Life begins with the Battery.

Clean battery posts/clean cable ends/clean connections at the starter, and just for practice check/renew the other system grounds. Check the connections at the starter relay.

Is the battery fully charged, and will it pass a load test? If you haven't done these things yet, nothing else matters.