• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Another dead Jeep thread......

tranquileman

NAXJA Forum User
.....the story so far.....
My 89 XJ w/4.0 was running really rich, like leaving a litteral carbon foot print from the tail pipe!, but it was running. We had a cold snap in the middle of December and it hasn't started since then.
I am new to the whole Jeep thing and am still wondering if my old 78 Ford 2wd with a 300 6 and 4 spd isn't the better option because its so simple to fix.
After searching the net for a month, trying this, trying that, it is still plugging up my carport.
It has spark, fuel, and a new battery. When I turn it over it seems like it wants to start but just doesn't "catch". When i disconnect various sensors it just cranks without tring to go at all. Its getting the obligatory 5 volts to the various sensor plugs so its not the ECU, thank God.
We bought this thing for winter survival because we're 3 miles from the main road, and 15 miles from the nearest town, in the mountains of British Columbia, so if any of you Jeep experts have any ideas, we're all ears, so to speak.........

If you got fuel and spark, it should start. Unless...not enough fuel. Check for PSI at the fuel rail (30-40 PSI).

Is it turning over fast enough? I think the Renix motor needs 300rpm to to start.

Thanks for the reply MD.

Yep.......we just bought a new battery so its cranking plenty fast.

As for fuel pressure, can it be checked if the engine isn't running?

I was on another site and it gave all the specs for 4.0's sensors. We checked every one of them and the coolant temp sensor had no reading at all. We may be on to something here...........

Yes the fuel pressure can be checked even when not running. Just turn the key to 'run' with the gauge hooked up.