• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

manual Tranny options???? please help!!!

t-frady

NAXJA Forum User
i was pulling my truck out om the mud tonight... thats when it happened the noise i didn't want to hear the tranny is gone so hers is my Question

1. what is the best tranny and easily swapped into an 89 xj it had the peuegot so i knew it was going to happen one day just didn't know it wouldn't be today and what baout the shafts i think they are 21 spline now if im not mistaken ill have to switch them out for stronger one's too what all do i need out of the doner
Thanks guys

Travis

im a newbie and i know it, but trying to learn SOOOO
how hard is it to change the input to a 23 and the driveshafts are easy i know how to do it its just a matter or UJ's

You'll have to remove and tear down the whole T case to get to the input. They you'll have to tear down another 23 spl T case or buy the input. You would be better off getting a 23 spl T case to go with the 23 spl trans.

As far as the driveshafts, they'll work wether its a 21 or 23 spl. T case.

okay so if i can at the local pull-a-part get a tranny and a t-case both 23 spline
with a warranty.... and the driveshaft your telling me i can put a 21 spline in a 23spline t-case, that will work i figured it wouldn't line up right

okay so if i can at the local pull-a-part get a tranny and a t-case both 23 spline
with a warranty.... and the driveshaft your telling me i can put a 21 spline in a 23spline t-case, that will work i figured it wouldn't line up right

The spline count where the rear DS goes doesnt matter. They are all the same. You're DS will work.

The spline count on the output shaft at the end of the transmission, where the transfer case bolts to, is where the difference is.

IIRC, it is 90 and up that have 23 spl outputs on the trans.