• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie intro and XJ Q's

Hi Gang!
I posted this in some of the NAXJA Chapter forums as well, I didn't see a "intro/announcement" area so I wasn't sure where to put it:roll: Mods - please move it if you think it's what to do...

My friend from another forum Aroncull introduced me to this great community and resource, thanks buddy:yelclap:

I am a long time mechanic and hot rodder and I'm presently in the market to buy a '97 - '01 XJ. I want to move pretty quickly on the purchase so I've got a bit of study to do so I know what to get:geek::read:.
I'm looking to use the XJ as my daily driver. I'm a wanderer,with no permanent home, travelling wherever the spirit moves me.
The truck will see a lot of hi-way use and must be rock solid dependable.
I do want to have real off road ability too, so I'm thinking mild lift/suspension work and such - as much as I can do w/o sacrificing too much over the road drivability and fuel economy.
I have many questions about everything from "is the five speed as durable as the auto for off road use?" To "is the cruise control an easy retrofit on to a non CC truck?"

I need to know how to spot the best rear diff - 8.25 I think, would be fine?
Links to buyers guide type post and other helpful stuff would be much appreciated:exclamati

Thanks in advance for all the help and info I'm sure I'll find here:exclamati

Rich

Last edited: