• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New Gears

jeepxj4play

NAXJA Forum User
I am ready to order new gears for my jeep, (94 xj sport, 4.0, auto, 4" lift, 33" boggers) I want to get them from 4 wheel parts (4wheelparts.com), but their site makes it a little difficult to find what I want. Maybe I am missing something.The only reason I want to buy from 4 Wheel Parts is because I have a $100 gift card I need to use from there. I have bought a couple of other things from them before and havent had much luck. They dont seem to know anything more about XJs the their computers will tell them. I am pretty new to this. I have a D-30 and xj D-44. I am wanting 4.56 or 4.88 which ever I can get. The rear will be welded if that makes a difference and this is a trail rig only, no street. Can someone point me in the right direction on the gear choices on their site and what else am I going to need to go from stock 3.55 i think to the lower gears?

Model shouldn't matter. Just make sure your getting gears for a HP30. Reverse cut. And standard rotation 44. You will also need master install kits for both. Plus, you will more than likely need new carriers because of going from 3.55's to 4.88's. If you have to replace the 44 carrier check that price against going with a full spool. Just another option.

Indeed, you need to buy new carriers front and rear, as well as gears.

You're also going to need to find a gear guy to install them - this is not a 'do it yourself' task, even on a trail rig.

You'll probably find your gear guy can buy them cheaper than you'll get them from 4wp, even with your gift card.

Gear setup guys are few and far between around there. :) I'll ask my dad he might know someone. He just retired from Parr/Mahle in Winterset. 4WP's price is well, eh....

Last edited: