• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D60 axle swap

kingmeirl

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all, I'm new to the game! I did as much research as I could, and am unable to find a good write up on the D60 rear swap. I bought a D60 with 7.13 gears (out of a tractor) I know I need to change the gears, but can I re-use the detroit locker that is installed with the new gears? And where would be the best place to buy gears? And how can I tell if this is a gm or ford D60? <----noob !!

Last edited:
i am no d60 expert, everything i say here is casual info in the interest of tech??

you might want to mention, is it front or rear?
here is a list of BOM numbers for identification, from pirate4x4, maybe it can help you... but its only for fronts
http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/60_front/D60 Front Shafts.html
and heres a picture to help find your bom #'s http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/60_front/images/billofmaterial.jpg
was the 60 original equipment on that tractor? or swapped in?
pirate4x4 has a lot of d60 tech, and its presented nicely in their tech section.

Hey all, I'm new to the game! I did as much research as I could, and am unable to find a good write up on the D60 rear swap. I bought a D60 with 7.13 gears (out of a tractor) I know I need to change the gears, but can I re-use the detroit locker that is installed with the new gears? And where would be the best place to buy gears? And how can I tell if this is a gm or ford D60? <----noob !!

I'm assuming it's a low pinion rear? If so, you can use that Detroit with 4.56 or numerically higher gears.

EDIT: You may want to check the spline count on those axle shafts (and therefor the Detroit)... it may be 16 spline being from a tractor
sad.gif