• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Overheating, Cooling Fan question.

navistarman1980

NAXJA Forum User
Hello there!

I'm very new to Xj's as I just bought my 1990 a few days ago. Its been running hot at idle, and sometimes while driving through the mountains. The temp is always changing.. it goes from 180-210 within a matter of seconds. If I let it idle for a long period of time... the resivor starts to overflow, and I shut the engine off. Another thing I noticed is that the electric fan only comes on when the A/C compressor is on. Is the electric fan supposed to assist the mechanical fan???? If so where is the temp switch for the electric fan? I have replaced the water-pump and t-stat (192degree) and shes still running hot!!
Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Justin

Welcome to NAXJA.Your cooling system probably has an air pocket that needs to be "burped " out.
The radiator has probably filled up with enough crud to render the temp switch for the aux fan inoperative-its located in the tank on the drivers side IIRC.The fan is to come on with the AC.
The best thermostat is the factory one with the air bleed hole,which is installed at 12 0clock to bleed trapped air out of the system.
Also check the condition of the cap on the pressure bottle-these are known to leak and let the engine over-heat.
Also use the "Search" feature--there are hundreds of posts on this problem

Wayne

if you don't have the weep hole in the thermostat flange you will get air trapped in there. on a new one the temp sensor is in the top of the tstat housing, with the air trapped up there you get false readings.