• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CTM's in a DD

The Box

NAXJA Forum User
Im pretty sure this is a dumb question, but bear with me.

I just picked up a set of axles from a guy that are already set up. hp30/xj44, both have alloy shafts, 4.56, and arb's.

The front has 30 spl inner/outer shafts with CTM's.

The CTM's are overkill for my setup right now (32's), but still cool i guess.

I have no experience with CTMs so Im not sure about their limits, except that I was told that they don't use bearings (if I remember correctly).

My question is this:
Since this jeep is my daily driver is it best to just swap them for an alloy u-joint, or would they stand up to frequent hwy use? (The guy that sold them to me said they are fine if you grease them every few weeks, but i find that hard to believe if they are bearing-less.)

PM xdumptruckx

Ben worked @ CTM for quite some time. I dont think they will be a problem but you can shoot him a message to double check.

What I'm really wondering is how can you have CTM joints in a D30 when they're only offered for 44 and 60's?

swbooking- Thanks I will contact him.

RCP Phx- Thanks for responding. I saw that when I was trying to figure it out, but the info seems vague to me. "Generally, grease them every trip or when you lube the rest of the vehicle once again depending on driving conditions." I may be misinterpreting that but theres a big difference between every trip and every oil change.

CTM's question: How frequently should you grease your ujoints.
CTM's answer: 65 percent of the time you should grease them everytime. Depending on your conditions.

D44 u-joints are the same as most D30 u-joints. Both are 5-297x. (Some dana 30 u-joints are 5-260x)