• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Why lockers and locking hubs?

mikeam7750

NAXJA Forum User
I'm very new to all of this. I try to figure questions out so i don't have to ask, but i just don't understand why you would have locking hubs with a locker.

I'm very new to all of this. I try to figure questions out so i don't have to ask, but i just don't understand why you would have locking hubs with a locker.

Turning doesn't work with locked diffs. Each wheel turns the same speed but the radius is different so one tire has a longer path.

Something has to give. Not good.

Locking hubs and locking diffs serve completely different purposes.

An open diff will always send power to the wheel with the least traction. A locking diff improves traction by locking the axle shafts together when one wheel starts to spin, so power is applied to both wheels equally.

Locking hubs lock the wheels to the axle shafts. The advantage is better gas mileage and less wear and tear on the drive train when they are unlocked in 2wd. Disadvantage is you have to get out to lock them when you shift into 4wd. Stock XJs do not have locking or automatic hubs, they have fixed hubs. They are always locked. I run an automatic locker in my front axle and except for during very tight turns I don't really notice it on-road.

Locking hubs and locking diffs serve completely different purposes.

An open diff will always send power to the wheel with the least traction. A locking diff improves traction by locking the axle shafts together when one wheel starts to spin, so power is applied to both wheels equally.