• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bonestock 92 XJ wobbling problem

Candio

NAXJA Forum User
I bought this shitty beaten up XJ from a friend of mine a few months ago and I finally got it running. I don't know much about it.

Up past 45mph, it starts wobbling pretty violently. It'll stop when I let off the gas. I've also noticed it start wobbling when slowing down from around 50 to 25 with no application of the brake.

Suggestions on the first and most important places to start looking?
This is my first project so go easy on me. Tire pressure's fine, rotors are fine.

Candio

First post and your already a paying member way to go. As for your wobble have someone work steering back \ forth while you watch tierods ball joints for any movement. Could have a bad tire run your hand around tire you make be able to feel uneven wear tire out of balance.Have you tried the search function on this site?

There are numerous threads on this topic. The search button is your friend. OK that's out of the way. Trust me I am nice about this we have a few search Nazi's (sorry to any Germans on here just using the quote no harm meant) on the site.

Now for the help. Check the track bar bushings. steering tre's(tie rod ends), and any and all suspension components. Make sure everything is tight and solid. If all is tight get the alignment checked and madke sure the tires are balanced well. Let us know after that...

Last edited: