• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Pre purchase questions...

snyder

NAXJA Forum User
I found a 96 xj with an auto tranny and 4.o that has 137000 miles on the vehicle. This rig is 250 miles from me so I had my younger brother go test drive it, only 70 miles from him. I have never owned a jeep newer than 1980 so I am a newb with this tranny.

Question #1
The vehicle will not start in Park, put it in Nuetral and it fires right up. I believe it won't even crank over. I'm assuming its a failed safety of some sort in the shifter?

Question #2
When putting vehicle into gear right from neutral, the vehicle seems quite slugish no matter how hard the accelerater petal is pushed. I believe it is shifting through all the gears but I can't be sure since I'm not close to this rig and my brother isn't very mechanically inclined. He did however say that if he runs it down to 1 and manually shifts it, it'll run real strong. Is this common, I know its hard to assume what it is doing, anything thing would help.

Thanks for your time.

Q1: you will need to clean the Neutral Safety Switch. Easy to do, takes about an hour and costs $5.

Q2: not sure, may be the same as #1 but I really don't know.

Well this guy is asking for 1800 for this 96 with 137k on it, it is a plain jane bare bones xj that has a/c and no other extras. It sounds like a fair price and these problems seem somewhat easily fixed, do you guys think its a decent deal?

when I put my car in reverse I have to wiggle the shifter to get the back up lights to turn on... but thats what makes a jeep a jeep.

go for 1200, and deal with starting it in neural... it will make you love it more... kinda like a dog with only 3 legs.