• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cherokee's gm v6 compared to jeep cherokee inlines

jeepnleo

NAXJA Forum User
ok so i wanted to put out some info. i am no technical expert this is just info i found on the net.

i just purchased a cherokee that has a 2.8L gm V6.
everyone told me to stay away from it but besides the engine the cherokee is what i wanted. 2 door black stock 5spd. a blank canvas for me to build on. so i got it.

so here is some engine info

jeep 4.0l 1987- 173hp 220lb-ft
jeep 4.0l 1988- 177hp 224lb-ft
jeep 4.0l HO 190hp 235lb-ft

jeep 2.5l 82-86 105hp 132lb-ft
jeep 2.5l 87-90 117hp 135 lb-ft
jeep 2.5l 91-95 130hp 149lb-ft
jeep 2.5l 96-02 125hp 150lb-ft

gm 2.8l 115hp 145lb-ft

so after seeing this i can see that i should be able to perform as well as any of the 2.5L. the 4.0L still much better.

so i looked into the easiest engine swaps. the 4.0L will not swap over without new transmission, new mounts and modification to the firewall.
the GM 4.3L V6 and GM V8 are popular swaps but also require the same as the 4.0L.

i found out that the 2.8l, 3.1l and 3.4l are all gm 60degree engines.
you can find 3.lL and 3.4L in a lot of gm vehicles. GM also has a GM performane 3.4L long block.

there are also companies that sale a 3.1L and 3.4L stroker kits for the 2.8L.

either the swap or the stroker you will use the same mounts the same transmission the only thing that needs to be changed if you do the swap is a nutrally balanced flywheel.

here is the hp and tourqe info

gm 3.1l 135hp 180lb-ft
gm 3.4l 160hp 194lb-ft

so now with a swap/stroker you should be able to perform better then a 2.5L but the 4.0L should still perform better.

Now all of this info is just on "stock" (stroker/swap). I didnt go into MODs like cams fuel injection headers intakes forced induction etc etc.