• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 and flexplate

Wiggleworm

NAXJA Forum User
Im a noob here and have read many posts on the AW4. I recently purchased a 92 XJ for 200 bucks. What a score. Drove it home with it making a noise like what has been described as a broken flexplate. Read it here before taking it apart. There was only 1 bolt holding the engine and tranny together! Broken flexplate was what I found. I ordered a new one and put it in along with a new converter just in case. No shavings in tranny pan but not taking chances. Unfortunately the thing shakes like crazy by the time you get to 3000 rpms. My question is is the 4.0 internally or externally balanced or did I get a junk flexplate? It has Made In Mexico stamped on it. Thanks for all the help.

Had that happen - ended up replacing the transmission, because there was a half-inch of daylight around that one screw. The first planetary set was "tilted" in the case, and would not turn. Problem!

The torque converter was fine - but the flexplate was shot, and I needed a Sawzall to tear down the transmission. Fortunately, if you can still turn the input shaft, you don't have that problem - but, being me, I'd probably drop the valve body (which you can do without tearing the thing apart and replace easily) and look for wear marks around the planetary shells (you'll know them if you see them.) The AW4 is the "pump shotgun" of transmissions - it does like abuse, but even it has its limits.

The use of LocTite #242 (or equivalent) on the engine-to-transmission screws is recommended. Not by the FSM, but certainly by me!