• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

gear oil... what should I be useing?

skidder1

NAXJA Forum User
For motor oil I just use whatevers cheap and change it often... most my conserns are about the other parts. All of this is on a 1995 Cherokee Sport. Also if someone has seen a DIY for changeing these fluids, please point me in the right direction.

Transmission (5-speed): I have no idea?
transfer case: same as transmission?

Front and rear diffs: 75w-90 syn or not?

I'm new to jeeps, any help is greatly appreciated.

skidder1 said:
For motor oil I just use whatevers cheap and change it often... most my conserns are about the other parts. All of this is on a 1995 Cherokee Sport. Also if someone has seen a DIY for changeing these fluids, please point me in the right direction.

Transmission (5-speed): I have no idea?
gear oil GL-5 I think, no need for syn unless you want it

transfer case: same as transmission?

no, atf +3 i think is the spec, thought it might be dex/merc

Front and rear diffs: 75w-90 syn or not?
no need for syn, but it is up to you GL-5 is fine

I'm new to jeeps, any help is greatly appreciated.

glad to help

For the tranny, AX-15, you will want to run a GL3 or GL4 because it has bronze syncro's. The sulfur in the GL5 oils will attack the bronze makeing it harder to shift and wearing your parts out too fast. All the FSM's say to use GL5 but if you try to buy some from a jeep dealership they will sell you an engine oil (may have been a straight 30 weight but I can't remember.) I went for the Redline MT-90 and it shifts much smoother. Just about any ATF should work, I use ATF +mercron. My axle's are just getting the cheap NAPA stuff.

~Alex