• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tranny cooler question

Stallacrew

NAXJA Forum User
If I were to install a transmission cooler, would it be in addition to going to the radiator or would it only have to go through the cooler?

I have some f'ed up tranny lines from a difficult pull and I want to put on a cooler anyhow. If the lines ran in the tranny to the cooler out of the cooler and back to the tranny that would be ideal. I am assuming but have never got a confirmation that the transmission has its own pump? I am a transmission newbie but I need a little help.

I would just mount the cooler under the car or what? where do these normally go? In front of the radiator?

THanks

--Alex

Normally goes in front. This topic gets discussed a lot. I'm sure searching here will get you lots of info, and I know for sure that searching on jeepin.com will too.

Get the biggest tranny cooler that you can fit in front of the radiator!! You don't NEED to have the lines going into the radiator too...but some people usually leave them going through there anyways. Generally, the logic behind keeping that almost useless cooling loop part of the bigger loop is in the winter, it will get your tranny fluid up to temp!!! Seeing as how you live in AL I'd say you really won't have to be worrying about the tranny never getting up to operating temps!!

Do whatever is easiest. If you totally remove the radiator loop, obviously, block off the holes there. If your tranny hard lines are really messed up, just cut them back to where they're not bad, and run tranny hose the whole way up and back!! The pump is in the tranny, no worries there. Do not use fuel line!! It's different than tranny line. The tranny line is specific to deal with tranny fluid, and any autoparts store has it. Get more than you need.