• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Alternator to PDC wire upgrade (late xj)

Deadman 94 xj

NAXJA Forum User
I'll try my best to explain my question:

Is the alternator wire that runs directly into the PDC to fuse locations #F8 & #F16 (labeled "60A ALT PWR1" & "60A ACT PWR2") connected with only one wire at the load side?

What I want to do is bypass the 2 60A fuses when I upgrade to a larger wire. Are the two fuses on one line? Can I piggy back ONE wire to bypass both fuses?

Or, is it possible to (instead of piggy backing) replace the wire inside the PDC?

When either method is done what happens to all of the other fuses and relays in the PDC? Should they ALL be upgraded?

Bare with me hear I'm new to this lol. Thanks.

poorboy_616 said:
ALWAYS run fuses or breakers. Just run it the way they designed, only use bigger wire.....

From what I've read the stock wire cannot be removed. I'm wondering if anyone out there has done it. I understand the fuse part. What I would do is run an inline bar type fuse within the wire that I replace the stock wire with. If I just piggyback the original wire than I'll just upgrade the stock fuses.

My question is do I have to piggy back the stock wire?

I'm probably making this too complicated and should just jump the wire.

I'm learning here as I type lol.

Last edited:
No. Disconnect the alternator lead at the QD fitting they use (whatever sort it is,) and then the alternator can be run - via a fuse - to the PDC screwposts where the battery cable connects. Electrically speaking, they're the same connection (the two posts connect directly to the Buss bars in the PDC. The fuses connect to the Buss bars in the PDC. Problem solved.)