• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fabricating Brackets to Mount Winch Brushguard - Advice Please

AlabamaDan

NAXJA Forum User
I could use some help please. I've got finally secured a 9000lb winch and what I think is an older Warn Trans4mer brushguard, both used and within my practically non existant budget. Problem is that I'm either missing some of the mounting brackets for the brushguard or it was never designed for recovery, just looks.

I'm not planning on doing any heavy duty off roading or rock climbing, but if you're going to build something do it right is what I always say! I don't want it to be a poser. I've not done any fab work on my Jeep or much at all, but my uncle is a welder by trade and has all the equipment. If I can put together a plan, I'm sure the two of us can make it work. That's where I need advice.

From what I've read I need to tie the brushguard into the unibody rails. I'm thinking that what I should do is cut some steel plate to bolt alongside the unibody rails that eventually will come out and I can mount my brushguard to. How thick of plate should I use? How long should it be?

I guess to mount these rather long brackets to the rails I'll just drill all the way through the rails and put a bolt through the bracket on the outside of the rail and the nut goes on the inside of the rail. Seems like drilling holes in the rail will weaken it. Should I put a peice of plate on the other side of the rail too? What grade of bolt should I use? Should I use flat washers and/or lock washers? What about nylon lock nuts instead of just plain old steel nuts?