• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

advice on rod bearing replacement

dfete91

NAXJA Forum User
I have isolated my knocking in my 4.0 auto and I'm about to go outside and replace the rod bearings. I have a good idea of what I'm up against, but I've never done it before. Anyone have any advice or tips?

If you're not lifted, disconnect the shocks and sway bar links and let the axle droop as best you can to gain clearance-- I'd look at mains and rear main seal when I was in there. You might also want to replace the oil filter adapter o-rings since you're under it getting sloppy anyway.

let me know how it goes...I might have to do this soon

Shorty said:
If you're not lifted, disconnect the shocks and sway bar links and let the axle droop as best you can to gain clearance-- I'd look at mains and rear main seal when I was in there. You might also want to replace the oil filter adapter o-rings since you're under it getting sloppy anyway.

x2

I did this about a year ago on my 91. I've just got a couple of points to add.

1) Make sure you have some rubber hose to go over the threads of the rod, You definately don't want to score the crank. If you do, or it is already scored (run your fingernail over the surface to see if you feel anything), you will need to get the crank ground.
2) Make sure you plastiguage each bearing to make sure its within spec. Do this before you use any assembly lube. When I did mine a had a full set of standard size bearings and two sets each of under and over sized just in case i needed them.
3) Might as well take care of anything else while you are under there. (rear main,oil filter adapter rings, oil pump, etc)

menos said:
I did this about a year ago on my 91. I've just got a couple of points to add.