• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

brakes when cold or wet.

90xj06

NAXJA Forum User
pk when my brakes get wet or cold the work great. if you hit the peddle they will lock up nicely. but then after a couple stops that lock up ability vanishes. i have a new master cylinder and pads and shoes.

i was just wondering. its strange tho it doesn't do it in the rain. but if you spray them with the hose.

Mine do the same thing. Sorry I can't offer any advice on any of it, but just figured I'd relate to the issue. :D

Got the same thing that happens to my rears usually in the mornings... It's always funny when coming to a stop sign with a jogger crossing the road and you lock up doing 10mph...

Oddly enough, I think I've seen this before. It was caused by someone "getting on" the brakes within about 500 miles of a change, before the pads were bedded...

Fix? Try taking the pads out, breaking the surface with sandpaper or emery cloth (80-120 grit should work) or a fine cut flat bastard file (double-cut if you have it, and only if you're sure of yourself! A file is rather more aggressive...) and reinstall. Hit the rotors with Scotch-Brite wheels if they seem glazed as well - it's a possibility.

Glazing on the pads or rotors will cause them to retain heat, meaning you'll get "brake fade" that much quicker. Wetting them down will help them cool, until the water evapourates - and you can direct a hose (rain doesn't usually get on things undercar, unless you drive through a puddle.)