• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Control arms, do I need uppers?

Jeepm@n

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I searched with no luck as I'm not good at finding stuff on the internet. I have a 94 XJ with a Rough Country 4.5 full leaf kit ready to bolt on. I'm waiting until I buyI have a RE adj track bar with the Heim joint and 4wd Hardware adj lower CA. I plan on changing the trans mount to a manual to see if I can get away without the driveline vibe temporarily. I'm wondering do I need to put longer upper control arms in? How can I tell if the Heim joint is any good on the Adj TB I bought used?

Thanks for the help in advance.

If the hiem is tight, its good .. if not, .. not.

At 4.5" you should need upper and lower control arms yes.

Go look at the RE 4.5" lift kit, they list the contents on their webpage. Everything in that kit, you need.

Yes get longer UCAs too. Good job on deciding to do adjustable lowers too. I didn't. I let myself get talked into a setup that I knew wouldn't work and now my Jeep rides like poo and the steering is impossible to align properly...

Darky said:
Yes get longer UCAs too. Good job on deciding to do adjustable lowers too. I didn't. I let myself get talked into a setup that I knew wouldn't work and now my Jeep rides like poo and the steering is impossible to align properly...

I'd like to see pics of that setup.

Jeepm@n said: