• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

engine noise

rehberg79

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to the XJ, and to your forum. I bought my '99 about two months ago. Ok after reading the 22 pages of "Your oil recomendation" I thought It would be a good idea to change the oil not knowing what the PO used. I used M1 HM 10-30 and a mopor filter. Now when I start the jeep after it has sat for awhile there is a noise, sounds like some sort of chatter coming from the engine. It gose away after it starts to warm up. Is there anything I should check or should I have gone with a thicker oil. Oh yeah.... it's a 4.0 with 61,000 miles. .

I think thats like 100,000 km, right. I would switch to a thicker oil. It sounds like your lifters are running dry until the oil pump can get some lube up to the top end. Maybe your push rods are clogged up?You're using a synthetic oil, right. Good on, ya! Perhaps the p/o used regular oil, with infrequent oil changes on top of that to create a sludge biuld up that the synthetic took away. My two cents anyway.........

Nice engine with on 61k! Shouldn't be a problem for another 190k, however you never know what the PO has done with it. Make sure you have good Oil pressure like Retep said. Other than that you should be good. Glad to have you.

--Alex

Thanks for easing my mind, next oil change I will run thicker oil. I've seen people doing seafoam treatments, what is that and should I look into that at or befor my next change? By the way the oil pressure is about 55-60 cold and around 35-40 warm and at idle. Ok?