• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Part cleaning

hitchhiker

NAXJA Forum User
I couldn't find any threads on this. I'm a newbie when it comes to old rusty jeeps. It looks like either many of my grease sleaves were overfilled and left grease everywhere or they are burst along with a fair amount of rust.

Any recommendations for a newbie parts cleaner?

Last edited:
If you are getting off some dusty grease, then liberally use some brake cleaner or carb cleaner. It's xylene and disolves grease well, however I find it under my watch band often and I get a rash if it stays more than a minute or so, be advised it's an irritant.

Also "purple power" from your local is pretty handy as well. I use it one wheels and tires to get brake dust off and just to clean them in general. it works well on grease if it sits. DON'T get close enough to inhale the mist, it burns like shit.

If you are removing rust from the "old rusty Jeep" you dont have too many options:

1. Use a wire brush or a wire wheel on a drill/air tool and remove all the oxide (rust). You'll be left with pitting most likely depending on how rusted the part is and also how thick it is. This door metal for example will be a hole after a wire wheel if severely rusted to begin with. Now comes the welder to fix the hole.

2. Use POR-15. No personal experience with it, yet. Supposedly you just clean off the loose stuff and paint it on to the rust and it completely stops the rust from progressing. O% vapor can get through to continue the oxidation. Comes in several colors and I heard if you're mixing it and drip 1 drop of sweat in it, then you have f-ed up that whole container. Just a heads up, but I don't remember where I read that. Maybeon the site.