• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Radio not working, and other electrical issues.

StratoXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone,

And happy 4th of July!

Newbie here with some electrical problems. I have a '96Xj Sport that came with a factory installed Panasonic radio/cd player, I swaped it with a new sony xplod. It worked for 15 min, it won't turn on at all. Fuses are ok, I have 12v contant from the pink wire, 12v from purple/white wire, checked continuity of the black wire (ground)to chassis, and they're ok.

Now this is where it gets strange, when I start the Cherokee and while the engine is running the voltages from the pink and purple/white wires drop to zero.:confused:

Can anybody please help me on this? Thanks.
Mike

When you refer to the pink wire and the purple and white wires are you refering to the vehicle harness or the stereo harness? The colors don't always match between the two.

StratoXJ said:
Hello everyone,

And happy 4th of July!

Newbie here with some electrical problems. I have a '96Xj Sport that came with a factory installed Panasonic radio/cd player, I swaped it with a new sony xplod. It worked for 15 min, it won't turn on at all. Fuses are ok, I have 12v contant from the pink wire, 12v from purple/white wire, checked continuity of the black wire (ground)to chassis, and they're ok.

Now this is where it gets strange, when I start the Cherokee and while the engine is running the voltages from the pink and purple/white wires drop to zero.:confused:

Check to see if the AC Blower, wiper, and turn signals die too.

Sounds like a bad ignition switch. Somewhat common. I ran a by pass dash switch on mine for that hot wire through the ignition switch, got tired of replacing ignition switches.

Can anybody please help me on this? Thanks.
Mike