• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Transmission Slipped So I Pulled the Engine (Lots of Pics)

Mesh

NAXJA Forum User
And yes the engine transmission and transfer case are easily removed in one piece.

I've been lurking for a while I don't like to pretend that I'm an expert and I'll probably only post projects that are exciting to me or either helpful or interesting for the community.

So it's an 89 Limited with a plush leather interior with 230,000 miles on it 50,000 of which are mine and I wasn't nice. I've been working on a new engine and the transmission problem gave me an excuse to rebuild everything. The plan is a complete rebuild of the transmission and transfer case I will take more pictures during the build.

It took only two days after work to unbolt everything then pulled it on the third day. I was a little worried about the engine mounts interfering and the transfer case being too wide but they were no problem at all.

The before, it looks like a good clean engine other than its shot.
Before2.jpg

Front panel removed and engine stripped.
Before3.jpg

Almost out.
Pull1.jpg

Grease and oil
Pull2.jpg

Dead engine lying on the floor spilled blood.
Pull3.jpg

In pieces
Split1.jpg

And an upcoming sneak peek something I've been working on for a while it's a 4.7
znew1.jpg

If you are going to rebuild your tranny and xfer case, where are you going to get your kits to do those rebuilds. I have a AW4 and a 242 I am going to be rebuilding very soon, and I am trying to find out where to get the rebuild kits and which brand to go with, although I am not sure that matters, but it could. Anyhow let me know, and good luck on the rebuilds.

Thanks,
Silent