• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dremmel for trimming. How long will it take?

JEEP 4X4 DRIVER

NAXJA Forum User
Today is the day for the front fender trim and I have never used an angel grinder before. I do have a dremmel though with lot's of cut off wheels.

How long do you all think it would take to do the job using a dremmel? I'm going to take the cut to under the lip just above the holes.

At LEAST a week! Wow, I'm not that commited(by commited I mean CRAZY). Good luck. I'd buy an angle grinder with a cut off wheel.

Ignore those guys, it won't take a week. I'd say 10-12 days, tops.

I'd recommend a cheap 4-5" grinder. Bought a Ryobi for 40 bucks with grinding/mop/wire wheels, and cut off discs are like a 1.30 at Home Despot. Save yourself a lot of time.

get some leather chaps...

Jig saw works great. I used that on mine.
Angle grinder wont take to long just dont force the cut of disks. Make sure to use a cut off disk that is out of fiberglass not the cheap junk they normaly give you with the dremel. It can be done just takes some time.

Or just use a sawzaw cut under the holes, get some snips or cutters a hammer and cut notches and fold them over with a hammer, I just did mine last week it came out very good. Also folding over wont cut up your tires

Don't use a dremmel! It'll take forevvvvver. I used an air body saw (a small reciprocating pneumatic saw for sheet metal) that I got at Northern tool for less than $50. It worked great and is very easy to manuever and learn to use correctly.

i used a dremmel with the cut off wheel and each side only took me about 20-25 mins. i didn't feel like buyin an angle grinder so i stacked the cut off wheels to give me more mass lol