• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rubicon Hack and Tap poll

jeepbme

NAXJA Forum User
Probably want get any responses, but ill give it a try.

Im getting pretty good vibes at 65 and above with the stock slip yoke hooked to a Dana 44 and np231 on a 97. I already have a Rusty's transfer case 1" drop shield ,but the vibes are still pretty tough with a 3.5" lift.
What's your experience good or bad with a R.E. Hack and tap?

Last edited:
I've been running mine for nearly five years no problems. Running pretty hard on 35's. Most of my friends are running it with 33-37's and have never seen one fail.

im thinking of the front drive shaft conversion. What did you go with for the shaft?

I know alot people go with the HD slip yoke elim but i think i can get away with this for the amount of lift and this allows me to keep the case closed and sealed.

I like the H&T, but for the front shaft conversion, by the time you get the other flange to bolt to the H&T to be able to do the front shaft conversion, you might as well spend the extra $30 and get the HD SYE, then the front shaft bolts right up.

i hear ya...sealed is the key word here. i dont feel like wrestling down the case or trying to still installed.

thinkin roughly 90 for the hack
20 for the shaft
65-85 for the assembly from napa

The other flange you need is about $70. I'll have to search for the part number when I get the time, or you can search for it. It is 212299 or something like that, and then the NAPA part number is different, but I know that is out there somewhere.

so let get this straight you can buy a SYE and then buy a flange and be able to use a front XJ drive shaft front and back

is this right?

please can someone fill me in

sam