• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Suspension Builders parts, Control Arms

yj4roks

NAXJA Forum User
Okay so I did some searching and found some good info on the lengths, etc for control arms. My question is, where to buy the parts?
I am very new to the XJ thing (notice my screen name has "YJ" in it?).
I have had this XJ for about 2 months or so and have been going through it, getting it up to trail ready. It had some sort of "custom" lift on it made with 2" Rancho springs and 2" spacers, Procomp lower control arms and stock upper arms. The previous owner was running 33x10.50's on those wonderful stock gold honeycomb rims! It worked for him but not for me. I have since replaced the rims and tires with 33x12.50's on steel black rims. Even after installing Rusty's fender flares and cutting out a fair amount of metal at the back of the wells, the tires still hit when turning.
I would like to build some upper and lower control arms to push the axle to be more centered in the wheel well (but not so far to interfer with steering, etc). The problem I am having is, this "FREE" Jeep has set me back 2 grand and the wife has cut me off! LOL....I need to make this cost effective so purchasing $500 of pre-made arms is not going to happen. I am pretty good with a MIG (made almost everything on my YJ including some suspension components running 36's).
I am having problems with finding the right sized bushings! The upper control arms appear to be 2" wide overall and I can only find 2.5" overall bushing assemblies. Also, have others here used square/rectangular tubing for the uppers? Seems like they have to be as to clear frame rails, exhaust, spinning drive shaft, etc.
Any info you can provide regarding:
centering the wheels in the wheel well, and
parts list for UPPER and LOWER control arm construction,