• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Factory Roof Rack not moving

Magus2727

NAXJA Forum User
Is it common for the roof rack rails to jam and not be able to move? I have never tried to move them before but I just got a bike rack and I need to move one of the rails forward (both are in the back). But the buttons are stuck and wont budge. Do I just need to spray some WD-40 in there or something to get things moving again? Any info or advice would be nice. Thanks.

yea, wd-40 or pb blaster. most likely the buttons are just stuck cuz they havent been used in forever, or the track stuf is durty, so spray the inside of the track stuff out pretty good.

Should I use a penetrating lubricant like WD-40 or PB - Blaster? Or I do have white Lithium Grease, but that should be used after I have everything moving huh…

Edit: what would be the best thing to clean it with? would going to a wash bay and using a power washer on the soap setting work? or would a brake cleaner / carb cleaner work the best? those shouldent damage the paint should they? (not that my jeep is in the best looking condition...)

i'd just use soap and water. the rest of the stuff is just a lil too abrasive, IMHO

wash it well, then use the pb or wd-40.

allow it to sit for a day or two, spray it every couple of hours, let it soak well, then try again. make sure you have the bars horizontal, otherwise they'll bind

I ended up having to pop the cover off mine and lift the catch manually. Hard to explain, but you'll understand what I mean if you pop the cover off. If I had to lubricate something, I'd rather use a penetrating lubricant like PB Blaster instead of a water-displacing spray...

Jim www.yuccaman.com

Yucca-Man said: