• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Renix...dammit

liliysdad

NAXJA Forum User
OK, I am new to the XJ world, and having some issues.....

1988 Cherokee 2dr, 175k miles, rescued from the crusher...

Idle is decent, but varied...sometimes high, sometimes low, no rhyme nor reason for either. Good top end..very, very good full throttle acceleration. Off idle, however, is a different story. Slow acceleration is OK, but anything between Grandma and WFO results in hesitation, bucking, and backfiring through the intake......

Here is what I have done....

New plugs, wires, cap and rotor...
New Air and Fuel filters...
TPS has been adjusted, and tests good...
MAP sensor replaced...
IAC cleaned, and functioning...
Exhaust replaced...
Checked vacuum lines, and no apparent leaks...
EGR is disconnected, prior to my purchase...
Air Intake Temp shows no difference whether hooked up or not...

My plans tomorrow are as follows...

Replace Coolant temp sensor...
Trace and replace all vaccum lines...
Recheck TPS...
Check O2 sensor...

I am wits end..the truck has an insane amount of power at full throttle, but driveablity is terrible...

Anything I've missed?

All are classic signs of a faulty EGR, but really you just need to go over everything and check it. Start with the grounds and connecters.

Do you have the RENIX FSM?

I have the RENIX manual on my laptop, been reading it some, but damn, its dry...

On the EGR side, what do I need to look for? When I got the Jeep, the EGR module on the fender had no vacuum lines going into it, could be a clue, I suppose.

x2 on the EGR valve.