PDA

View Full Version : How does this scam work?


HaleYes
March 25th, 2008, 14:19
Just for the heck of it, I replied to this CL ad;
http://stlouis.craigslist.org/car/616160879.html


The car is already at the shipping company in Detroit, Michigan sealed and ready for the shipping. I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them. I'm very busy with my job and I'm left out of the town so I can't meet in person with you so this is the reason why I chose to sell my car over the internet. According with the eBay you have 5 days from the time you receive the car to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
Here is how it will work:
1.First of all I will need the following details from you:
- Full Name
- Full Shipping Address
After I will receive the details from you, I will forward them to eBay.
After they will process your info, they will send us both invoices. The invoice
will send you the details on how to make a refundable payment.
eBay will contact me and I will ship the car to you. After you receive the car
you will have 5 days to test, verify and do whatever you need to the car. If you
will buy, then I will receive the payment details from eBay so that I can pick up
the money.If you will decide that you will not buy the car, eBay will refund the money and I will have the shipping company come pick up my car. If you wish to make the transaction, please send me the necessary info so that we can proceed. I look
forward to hear from you.
Thank you


She insists that I pay through Ebay. I'm 110% that this is some sort of scam( I thought that from the get-go), I just don't see how they make their money. I'm just curious.

Hale

H8PVMT
March 25th, 2008, 14:24
already flagged and removed

it works because most people aren't smart enough to check the bottom of their browser for a secured site logo, they make a phony replica ebay site and do it that way

you can always tell a scam by the way they write in translated english like "the ebay" and "if you will buy"

HaleYes
March 25th, 2008, 17:28
I can't imaging people being that much of a tard to fall for it. That's alot of money to pass over the net(it is for this poor boy anyway). You'd think that people would be more cautious than that.:rolleyes:
The title on CL should just be Click here for scam". It's just about that blatent.

RichP
March 25th, 2008, 18:08
I guess I'm just the cautious type, I've bought from autotrader.com and craigslist.com, both vehicles I eyeballed and test drove first. I figure if I'm putting out $3K or more it is worth the 2 or 4 hour drive and handle the transaction in person.

HaleYes
March 25th, 2008, 18:25
I guess I'm just the cautious type, I've bought from autotrader.com and craigslist.com, both vehicles I eyeballed and test drove first. I figure if I'm putting out $3K or more it is worth the 2 or 4 hour drive and handle the transaction in person.

Exactly!.

I told this joker I needed the name and addy of the shipping company cause I was headed to Detroit. I haven't heard back.:laugh3: