• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need Help w/ Intermittent Engine Problem

Gaz

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a newbie and I've tried searching through the forum but I'm not having any luck finding help for this particular issue. I have a '96 XJ 4.0 4x4 auto with 107K miles and have had intermittent probelems for about 2 months now. It all started with the Jeep just dying while the Mrs. was driving it. I was out of town at the time so I told her to take it to the mechanic. He checked things out and replaced the crank position sensor along with a cam position sensor. The cat was rattling so she had him change that as well since it was in there. He said that he was seeing higher than normal back pressure and that the cat was likely the culprit. That seemed to take care of the issue...for a while.

Now it runs great for a while but if you drive it for more than about an hour, it will cut out and stumble. It has no power to get up to speed and just kind of lunges and jumps when you try to accellerate. The weird thing is that the idle seems to be just fine. It seems like it does this when you are in stop and go traffic and it gets a little hotter but the temp gauge reads just below 210. If I pull off the road and let it sit for about 10-15 minutes it starts fine and the problem seems to go away. I just changed the thermostat as I thought I'd start with the least expensive things first.

I've read a few posts on the throttle position sensor but haven't had a chance to check with an ohm meter. Any help you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated.

~Gaz

Have u checked ur fuel pressure on the fuel rail?

Any engine codes?